Rivers and Fisheries Trusts Scotland (RAFTS)

The RAFTS Invasive Species and Biosecurity Programme is the first initiative to attempt to tackle biosecurity issues at the local level over a large geographic area. The Programme is implemented by RAFTS through 20 of its member trusts whose areas of operation cover over 80% of Scotland. 

Key outputs and actions of the first stage (2008-2011) of the Programme were:

  • Production of biosecurity plans for 20 member trusts
  • Implementation of key actions within those plans in a number of areas
  • Local reporting and surveillance systems to detect the introduction and monitor the spread of INNS and to report relevant information to national and UK based authorities.
  • Local rapid response protocols to contain, control and eradicate new populations of selected INNS in the Trusts' areas. These protocols will deal with newly detected incidences of INNS that are already established in GB and that will not trigger the GB rapid response mechanism
  • Local and national awareness activities
  • Local capacity building particularly training 

The 20 member trusts are:

Argyll Fisheries Trust                                       Ayrshire Rivers Trust
Clyde River Foundation                                   Cromarty Firth Fisheries Trust
River Dee Trust                                              Deveron, Bogie & Isla Rivers Charitable Trust
Forth Fisheries Foundation                               Galloway Fisheries Trust
Kyle of Sutherland Fisheries Trust                     Lochaber Fisheries Trust
Loch Lomond Fisheries Trust                            Ness & Beauly Fisheries Trust
Spey Research Trust                                       Tay Foundation
Tweed Foundation                                          West Sutherland Fisheries Trust
Wester Ross Fisheries Trust                             Outer Hebrides Fisheries Trust
River Don Trust                                              Esks Rivers and Fisheries Trust 

Thin strip of image show tree trunk and bark