British Indian Ocean Territory


Edgar, P. (2010). The Amphibians and reptiles of the UK Overseas Territories, Crown Dependencies and Sovereign Base Areas: Species Inventory and Overview of Conservation and Research Priorities. Bournemouth, UK: Amphibian and Reptile Conservation.

Proctor, D. and Fleming, L. V., eds. (1999). Biodiversity: the UK Overseas Territories. Peterborough, UK: JNCC.

Sanders, S. M., ed. (2006). Important Bird Areas in the United Kingdom Overseas Territories. Sandy, UK: RSPB.

Sheppard, C.R.C. and Seaward, M.R.D. (1999). Ecology of the Chagos Archipelago. Linnaean Society Occasional Publications 2.

Varnham, K. (2006). Non-native species in UK Overseas Territories: a review. Peterborough, UK: JNCC Report No. 372.

Carr, Peter (2011). A guide to the birds of the British Indian Ocean Territory. Pisces Publications for the RSPB.


JNCC – Invasive species in the UK Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies

Kew RBG – UKOTS Online Herbarium


Thin strip of image show tree trunk and bark